Improving your chakra health can improve your overall wellness

If your chakras are blocked it can mean a host of possible outcomes to your health.  If you don’t know what a chakra is, you are not alone.  I was always aware of energy however I didn’t fully understand how I affect energy or how to protect my own energy until I was educating myself to become an Integrative Health Coach and Reiki practitioner.

The chakra system originated in India between 1500 and 500 BC in the oldest text called the Vedas.  The word Chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning disk or wheel.  Chakras are energy stores located with our body.  When they are blocked, they cannot spin freely moving energy throughout the body.  We all have them no matter if you are female or male.  Our pets also have them.  For our pets chakras are located similarly however the placement may appear different because they have a different body shape.

We have 7 main chakras within the body.  Each Chakra is aligned with an organ, has its own purpose to fulfill, and identifying color, element and stone.  Here is an overview of each chakra.

  1. Root (Muladhara) – it represents the foundation. Located at the base of our spine near the tailbone.  It is responsible for your sense of security and grounding.  The color is red, and earth is its element.
  2. Sacral (Swadhisthana) – it represents how we relate emotions. Located in the lower abdomen approximately 2 inches below the navel.  It is responsible for well-being, pleasure, and sexuality.  The color is orange, and water is its element.
  3. Solar Plexus (Manipura) – it represents our self-esteem and confidence. Located in the upper abdomen in the stomach area.  It is responsible for true self love and our ability to be confident.  The color is yellow, and fire is its element.
  4. Heart (Anahata) – it represents love and joy. Located just above the heart in the center of the chest.  It is responsible for your abilities to give and receive love, this also means from yourself.  The color is green, and air is its element.
  5. Throat (Vishuddha) – it represents communication. Located in the throat.  It is responsible for having the ability to speak our truths.  The color is turquoise, and sound is its element.
  6. Third-eye (Ajna) – it represents intuition. Located in the forehead between the eyes.  It is responsible for our ability to connect with our intuition and see beyond what is plainly in front of us.  The color is dark blue, and light is its element.
  7. Crown (Sahasrara) – it represents our spiritual connection. Located at the top of the head.  It is responsible for your ability to be connected to yourself, others, and the greater universe.  The color is violet, and divine consciousness is its element.

You may start to feel a little off when one of your chakras become blocked.  The longer a blockage exists the more damage it can do to your well-being.  Damage can result in mental and/or physical challenges.

The good news is you can improve your chakra health once you have identified the problem.  Some signs that you might have a blocked chakra are:

  • Mood swings
  • Trouble communicating
  • Feeling disconnected with others
  • Sleep troubles
  • Difficulty concentrating
  • Chronic depression or anxiety

There are a few ways to open your chakras.  Chakra meditation, mantras, affirmations, yoga, and chakra jewelry are all things you can do to help open your blocked energy stores.

Meditation is the best approach to opening a blocked chakra.  You can find guided meditations that will take you through the steps of focusing your energy where it needs to go.

Mantras are sounds you can add to your meditation to boost the impact of the meditation.  Each chakra has an associated sound to it and when you are trying to open a particular chakra.  Chanting the sound of the chakra can assist in activating the wheel.

  1. Root – ‘Lam’ (I am)
  2. Sacral – ‘Vam’ (I feel)
  3. Solar Plexus – ‘Ramm’ (I do)
  4. Heart – ‘Yam’ (I love)
  5. Throat – ‘Ham’ (I speak)
  6. Third Eye – ‘Om’ (I see)
  7. Crown – ‘Ah’ (I understand)

Affirmations are another great way to help with opening up your blocked energy stores and can assist in overall balancing of your flow.  Here are a few affirmations for each chakra:

  • Root: I am safe, I have everything I need, I love myself
  • Sacral: I am in touch with my feelings, I feel good about my body, I nurture myself
  • Solar Plexus: I have the courage to be myself, I create my own life, I take responsibility for my feelings and thoughts
  • Heart: I forgive myself and others, I open myself to self-love, I accept myself and others as we are
  • Throat: I speak my truth, I can say no if needed, I am safe to express myself
  • Third Eye: I see connections and the deeper truth, I use my intuition wisely, all that I need is within me
  • Crown: I am one with the Divine, I know and understand, I am at peace

Different yoga poses can bring back the flow of energy to restore your chakras.  Here are some poses that can be practiced:

  1. Warrior I for the root
  2. Bound Angle for the sacral
  3. Boat for the solar plexus
  4. Camel for your heart
  5. Fish for your throat
  6. Child’s for your third-eye
  7. Headstand for your crown

Crystals have energy and can interact with our own energy.  Each chakra is associated with different gemstones and wearing them or having them in our home can encourage movement of energy through the associated chakra.  If you search on which stone is associated with each chakra you will get a list of options.  Here is just a few to get you started:

  1. Root – Hematite
  2. Sacral – Tiger’s Eye
  3. Solar Plexus – Amber
  4. Heart – Rose Quartz
  5. Throat – Aquamarine
  6. Third-eye – Amethyst
  7. Crown – Clear Quartz

Practicing meditation daily can go a long way at improving your overall health and the health of your chakras.  Start with 5 minutes until you can consistently do at least 20 minutes daily.  If you add mantras, it will be an added boost to your results.  Don’t worry if you are doing it right because there is no right or wrong way to meditate.  Meditation is giving yourself the gift of stillness to hear what your mind, body, and soul needs.

The bottom line is that we are integrated beings.  When we are off in one area, we tend to pick up the slack in other areas.  This causes an imbalance somewhere and one or many of your chakras may be overactive to pick up the slack from underperforming chakras.  Approaching your healing holistically will assist in ensuring a balanced overall wellness.  Take time alone to just be and open your awareness of what the mind and body needs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *